Roleplayers Central
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Roleplayers Central

A place where writers and roleplayers can hang out, host and join games of various styles and genres, and discuss the many aspects of the RPG universe!

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

The Few, The Epic, The MMORPG's

Go down 
+4
Gloom
Foxee
chad.sims2
CommonGoods
8 posters
AuthorMessage
CommonGoods
Celestial Gamer
CommonGoods

Male Number of posts : 1384
Prestige : 3
Registration date : 2009-01-24

The Few, The Epic, The MMORPG's Empty
PostSubject: The Few, The Epic, The MMORPG's   The Few, The Epic, The MMORPG's Icon_minitimeThu Aug 20, 2009 3:49 pm

An old saying goes "The King is dead, long live the King". But what if there is no heir?

A few years ago, I started playing, and fell in love with, World of Warcraft, a MassiveMultiplayerOnlineRPG, or MMORPG for short (funny fact; MMORPG has more lettres then short. Meh to the abreviation...). To those of you who play the game; I am talking about pre-battlegrounds here. All player VS player action was done on the map. Druids were still laughed at, as were paladins and shaman's (till they pulled of a windfury crit). I played a shaman in those times, and although life was hard, all was good.

Then blew the winds of change.

I do not know where things went wrong. Perhaps it was the sudden nerf of warriors. Perhaps it was the change in stun mechanics. Perhaps it was the new and bitter way PvP was organised. But whatever it was, the game just fell apart. World PvP, the 20 man raids on the opponents town, just for the kick of it, became extinct. Suddenly, class balance was gone. Everyone was running around in full epic gear, normally only reserved for the few elite.

Then the expansion came and ruined the game. After getting repeatedly 3-shot by a paladin, a class once designed to heal and protect, I just gave up on the game. Ding dong, the King was dead.